Posts

I Kneel for No Man!

 Saw a video- on Facebook, probably- of an ex-con relating the bathroom etiquette that was evidently in place at whatever prison he called home. This was first laid out to him by his cellmate, for the toilet they  shared in their cell. He was told he needed to kneel to pee.  Do what now??!! He was a pretty big boy himself, and his cellmate was a tough talking Crip or Blood, but he had to wonder if he was being punked. Everybody has heard the probably not-apocryphal story of Big Bubba telling his weaker cellie that he was his bitch and could only pee sitting down, ala the women. So, this fella was ready to rumble. However, the guy was not messing with him, and it was common practice where they were doing their time. He held it in rather than kneel and left to network with the other neighbors. Turned out to be true. Well, according to this guy being interviewed. Though you should never read the comments on Facebook, I did, and they were funny and all over the place as per u...

I Digress

 Well, congrats to Venezuela for winning the World Baseball Classic. I didn't watch because I don't have that level of Fox in my TV lineup. I've got Fox Sports, which you'd think would be enough, but it's never enough. The networks always leave you wanting- and paying- for more. New Cub, Daniel Palencia, pitched the 9th for his country and that pleases me. It should be a good year for him.  Today is corned beef day for me. This is because I dicked around and didn't get the potatoes and carrots until yesterday evening. I also picked up a small head of cabbage that I paid too much for. I'm OK with cabbage, but I could live without it. The young man at the fancy grocery store looked at it and asked me if it was lettuce. I told him it was cabbage but said he could ring it as lettuce- "whichever's cheaper". He laughed. He said, "We don't get many ferrermen in here." To wit I replied, "Not at these prices..." I love corned bee...

Ripped From Today's Headlines

 Been watching "Lioness" on Paramount, with Zoe Saldaña. (<---Did you catch the ñ there? I know what I'm doing.) It's got all the elements necessary to keep a Ferrerman interested in a show. These include violence, coarse language and female nudity, not necessarily in that order. It seems all the current shows have trigger warnings to alert people of the three mentioned above plus smoking and flashing lights- anything that might upset anyone  for some reason. That's one way of looking at it, but another might be that it's to alert viewers like me to the goodies available in an episode. I like all of the above, though I have to admit flashing lights are extremely annoying. I'm not subject to seizures, but I bet I could be if exposed long enough. Worked with a guy we called "Morphine Joe" years back who shared with us that him and his two boys checked out Japanese anime because someone had told him the flashing lights could cause seizures. MJ wa...
Image
 Saw a really good REEL last night and I may post it here if I can figure out how. I'm only semi-computer literate, and I'm man enough to admit it. I'm easily thwarted by the bullshit of the google protocols where, signed in as I am right here, right now because I'm pretty fucking obviously writing this fucking post , they want me to sign in afuckingain to link the video. That would require me to remember the password, and as a very fallible Ferrerman, I ain't gonna do that shit and they can't make me. But maybe I'll find a workaround because that's what us fellas do.  Do women really know us fellas? Have they ever walked in our shoes? The late writer, Norah Vincent did. She spent a year as a man, and it so devastated her that she checked into a psychiatric hospital afterwards. She wrote a book titled, "The Self-Made Man" about that year. I have yet to read it, but I got a pretty good gist of it from the REEL.  It wasn't a whiny plea like w...

The Love of Money

 Since Trump infected our lives ten-some years ago, billionaires have come out of the woodwork. Not sure if they were always there or if they or if they were a result of all these bubbles of tech and dot.coms and whatever people who aren't me fall into. It seems like I hear about new ones every day and this is because they are all assholes who made easy money and now want to control the world. Well, here's the thing about that: None of these fucks are qualified to run the whole earth show, and they are all playing each other thinking that they are working together- with fucking Trump(!!)- to facilitate this. Did they not learn anything about people on their way up the ladder? Did they not learn about themselves?  There was a guy in one of the bars I worked at, who was an alleged millionaire. I do not recall his name, what he looked like or what his business was. This is because he meant nothing to me. I didn't fucking like him. He was not friendly and he did not tip. I say ...

Once Upon a Prime Suspect

 Found another very good network show that fell victim to poor ratings. "Prime Suspect", starring the lovely and talented Maria Bello, lasted one season on NBC, back in 2011. I don't recall if I ever saw even an episode back then- maybe- as I am longtime fan of Maria Bello. She's a crush- OK??!! She's NOT my girlfriend! Yeesh! Anyway, perhaps viewers saw it (or didn't see it) as typical gritty NYPD cop drama. IMDb critics gave it a 7.3 on their Richter scale and I would go along with that rank myself. The show had an excellent cast including names you may have heard of like Kirk Acevedo, Brian F. O'Byrne and Aidan Quinn, along with familiar unknown faces as supporting cast. Acting truly is a team effort, and all involved put in the necessary good work each episode. It is always a pleasure to see good actors plying their craft. No one drags the show down.  Detective Jane Timoney doesn't have the usual TV cop baggage of a drug or drinking problem, or a b...

OH LORD- Please Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood

 I wish I had a camera in my bedroom. Get your mind out of the gutter! We covered my vague attempt at a porn career in New Orleans many posts here back, so it's not about me and extremely blonde Susan. This is much more innocent than that, though it does wind up with a woman being quite pleased.  The time change has messed me up again. I don't know why we do that twice a year. The worst one is the Spring switch (now) where we scoot ahead an hour for some dumb reason. I nap nearly every afternoon because I'm retired and I only get like six hours of sleep at night and I stay up kinda late because, why not? Thus, I get up kinda early. So, to get my constitutionally mandated eight hours, I try to pick up two in the afternoon. I rarely have trouble going to sleep, but the struggle is real in getting that eight in a row like most people. Many people? I don't know. So today my nap was kinda late by this past Saturday's standards, but I did that trick people do at time chan...